My First Life Drawing That I Liked

It took three life drawing sessions from when I started learning to draw that I got a piece I liked. It happened on February 24th, 2016, barely 8 days after my first life drawing session without any training, since I was part of a study on how people learned to draw.

 

 

Feb 24 2016, 15 min pencil
(please click to enlarge)

 

 

It was nothing spectacular. Rather, it was nothing horrendous, lol. I did pretty much everything in pencil in 2016, and very fine tipped mechanical pencil, for the most part. That was so I wouldn’t have to sharpen them, already always short on time to complete drawings, as it were. As a result, there wasn’t a lot of artistic qualities to most of my life drawings from 2016, just pencil strokes or some crude shading at best.

The piece above was from a 15 minute pose. I got the figure proportions, more or less, correct. The lack of a face showing towards me helped because I really struggled with faces starting out on my own without instruction. Same with hands hidden and only one foot to be seen. I had as much to help me as could be, almost, in other words, but I got it done. 🙂

These life session drawings are generally practice material for me, with live models rather than photos from online sources. I will combine them all into a Life Drawings collection, for tracking progress, if nothing else. No model name will be used as I don’t know which models would want their names used and which would not, and I won’t often know the model names.

 

More of my art can be found on my innudendo Instagram.

 

 

Save

Save

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.